The History of Hockey in the Northern Territory

The Beginning 

Hockey was first played in the Northern Territory in Darwin in 1940 with teams from the services competing for the Abbott Shield.

Hockey being played during World War 2 by service men on the Darwin Esplanade 

The competition had 6 clubs with several having multiple teams. The first Darwin Hockey Grand Final was played between Mobile A and Mobile B and finished a 1-1 draw. The replay was held the following Tuesday with Mobile A defeating Mobile B 1-0 to claim the first Abbott Shield.

The Northern Territory Hockey Association was formed in Darwin during 1948 and commenced it’s competition during the wet season of 1949/50.

Hockey continued to grow through the 1950’s and 60’s and more clubs joined the competition during this period.

In 1981 a major step was taken to form the Darwin Hockey Association and this allowed the Northern Territory Hockey Association to become the state body, controlling hockey in Gove, Darwin and Alice Springs

Photo courtesy of John Baylis

Hockey after Cyclone Tracey 1975

Masters Hockey

Masters Hockey Australia Website

Major Media Partners