Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Stingers Name Initial Squads for Festival of Hockey

Published Tue 28 May 2024

Veteran Stars and Rising Talent Boost Stingers for Upcoming Festival of Hockey

Both squads include a blend of returning veterans and up-and-coming youngsters. The men are bolstered by the return of Stinger Jamie Hullick, former national junior Isaac Farmillo, and an infusion of young talent such as Aiden Able and Dominic Andrade. The women are excited about potential debutants like 16-year-old young gun Niesha Casimiro and U18 star Koda Carne. The return of former Hockeyroo Liz Duguid and the hopeful participation of former Kookaburra and Blacksticks star Leon Hayward add depth to the squads.

In an exciting development, former Hockeyroo stars Jayde Taylor and Kirstin Dwyer have signed on, bringing a wealth of experience to the team. Joining them are sisters Jemma and Ellie Buckley, former Perth Diamonds and National Junior players, who will further strengthen the squad. Additionally, Blackstick defender Izzy Gill is set to return, cementing her role as a key part of the Stingers women’s rebuild.

Kieran Govers, head coach of the men's team, commented, "We are continuing to combine our seasoned players with our next generation of talent. Our senior players are a critical part of bridging the gap from the time missed from playing at this level."

With the Stingers last playing in the Australian Hockey League, now the Hockey One League in 2018, their return to the competition continues to build.

Michelle Caden, head coach for the women’s team, added, “This is a critical step in our journey back to the Hockey One League. Our senior players, including Duguid, Peris, and Pavy, who recently played for the Adelaide Fire in the Hockey One League, are critical parts of us fast-tracking the education of our group.”

"The festival is a significant event for hockey in the territory," said HNT CEO Jason Butcher. "It not only showcases our talent and provides our community access to our best players, but it also offers a crucial opportunity to enhance our capacity to play and host games at this level.”

"The inclusion of Australian hockey royalty - Jayde Taylor, Kirsten Dwyer, Jemma and Ellie Buckley, coupled with Mark Hager and Kieran Govers signing on, is a testament to the importance of the Stingers to Australian hockey, as support continues to grow in the high-performance community."

The Festival of Hockey is set to take place at the MWT Hockey Centre on Friday, September 20th, and Saturday, September 21st.

After taking on Hockey One Champions the Brisbane Blaze last year, this year’s opponents are set to be announced in the coming weeks.


Aiden Able

Dominic Andrade

Luke Broadway

Lucas Camara

Joel Carroll

Jyhe Clarke

Cameron Cooke

Robert Duguid

Billy Fahy

Calvin Farmilo

Isaac Farmilo

Dane Gavranich

Tarrant Haami-Jones

Jeremy Hayward

Leon Hayward

Karl Hochman

Nathan Hochman

Jamie Hullick

Adrian Lockley

Mitchell Lockley

Adam Luck

Khaden Mallett

Jeremy Mayne

Ethan MacDonald

Jayden McGregor

Mitchell Northcote

Ayden Parkin

Jonathon Peris

Zach Rakkas

Ben Reynolds

Lachlan Walters

Huw Wiltshire


Sydney Auld

Krista Bilato

Jemma Buckley

Ellie Buckley

Koda Carne

Niesha Casimiro

Emily Chaffey

Isobel Cowell

Tiana Crompton

Macenzee Dixon

Ash D'Souza

Elizabeth Duguid

Kirstin Dwyer

Izzy Gill

Sally Howie

Stacey Luck

Natalie Lynch

Jessica Martin Brown

Lauren Mutton

Camille O'Conor

Isabelle O'Conor

Kirra Lee Pavy

Brooke Peris

Destiny Peris

Elle Richardson

Josie Short

Amy Stripling

Jayde Taylor

Zita Varatharajan

Eliza Pridham


For further information, please contact:

Jason Butcher

CEO, Hockey Northern Territory